Skip to content

Book Review: Pot-Limit Omaha Poker by Jeff Hwang

July 20, 2009

I wanted to make sure I didn’t get left out.  Word on the street is that people are moving to PLO and that this is the “future of poker”.  I want to make sure I know what to do, so I researched a little and picked up this book.  I researched because I don’t really want to read 20 Omaha books yet.  I wanted to make sure I didn’t get Omaha for Dummies or anything too boring either.  This book was absolutely perfect for me.  It gave me what I needed: straight-forward, scholarly, rational.

IThis book lays out a clear strategy for taking on all three games and win.  It explains the how to, the logic and also give some great teaching exercises.  FYI, Hwang basically shuns any low-ball apprach to Omaha, instead opting for a big-pot approach, but does explain the rationale for that stance.

would recommend this book for any hold ’em player who would like to learn PLO, PLO8 or O8 (that’s what us in the know people call pot-limit omah high, pot-limit omaha high/low 8-or better and limit omaha high/low 8-or-better.)

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 28, 2012 3:14 pm

    Omaha is definitely the game of the future. Players are getting better but its definitely not too late to learn. This book is great too if you’re new to pot limit omaha.

Leave a Reply

